I have been afraid of the dark for as long as I can remember.

 

Pain throbs in Nyx’s tummy and she squirms uncomfortably. She crosses and uncrosses her legs until she finds a position that helps.

“Just get up and go,” the teddy’s black eyes bore into hers.

“No!” Nyx replies.

“Stop being such a baby, your seven years old now.”

“But what if it gets me?”

“What if what gets you? The bogeyman? There’s no such thing.” She doesn’t trust those black, soulless pools that seem to read her thoughts.

“Something could be hiding under my bed.”

“There’s nothing there.”

“I don’t believe you.”

“So you don’t believe yourself?”

“Dad!”

The hallway rumbles and her door cracks open. Makutu’s big, black silhouette takes up most of the doorway.

“What’s wrong?” he asks. She peers up at him from under the covers.

“I need to pee.”

“Well go on then.” He laughs and as she squeezes past him he pets her on the head. “The way you were carrying on, I thought something had happened.” Once she’s back in bed Makutu comes back to tuck her in.

“You alright kid?”

“Yeah.”

“So why’d you call out to me?”

“Well, I thought that the bogeyman would get me if I got off the bed.”

“The bogeyman?”

“Yeah, if I put my foot on the ground, he’ll grab my ankles.”

“You shouldn’t be afraid of the bogeyman,” He laughs

“Why Dad?”

He leans into her ear and whispers, “I am the bogeyman”. He kisses her cheek and goes to the door. “Light on or off kid?” She hesitates.

“Off”

“Alright, night.”

“Night. Hey Dad?”

“Yeah?”

“Are you really the bogeyman?”

“Yup, so you got nothing to be afraid of.” He shuts the door behind him and Nyx smiles to herself. Taking a deep breath she swings her head down to look under her bed. Her heart is racing but there’s nothing there but darkness.

