You slice my charred heart open with a knife,

My sweet and spicy love is not enough,

I was never enough,

Just something for you to Smash into,

To flatten on your carefree journey,

The journey to becoming insignificant to me,

You mattered once, when I was a virgin to love,

Not the physical kind, the kind that rips your soul in two,

I pinch myself with hands that are becoming gnarly,

Carelessness has caused them to be so,

But the dream does not end, I am happy.

The air is crisp and sweet to taste now,

Now, that I barely remember your face.

 

Writing Prompt!

Grab the closest book. Go to page 29. Write down 10 words that catch your eye. Use 7 of words in a poem. For extra credit, have 4 of them appear at the end of a line. ā€Ø

  • Charred
  • Gnarly
  • Flatten
  • Smash
  • Spicy
  • Sweet
  • Virgin
  • Crisp
  • Knife
  • Pinch

(You may or may not be able to tell it was a recipe book)

No extra credit, but I did manage to use all of the words! If you decide to give this a try leave me a link in the comments šŸ™‚

